Go to ...
About the institute >> Historical note

Historical note

In the thirties of the XXth century Soviet astronomy faced a need to establish a unified organization that could coordinate development of observatories, production of astronomical instrumentation and participation in international projects. In 1936 academicians A.E. Fersman and V.G. Fesenkov proposed to the Presidium of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR a project of the “Regulations of the Astronomical Council of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR” that was approved on December 20, 1936. This date is now celebrated as the birthday of the Astronomical Council of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR, future Institute of Astronomy of the RAS.

In accordance with the “Regulations” the Astronomical Council included all the astronomers, members of the Physical Group of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR (an analogue of the modern Branch of Physical Sciences). The Council was led by the Bureau. The first members of the Bureau were academicians A.F. Joffe (he had been the head of the Council for several weeks prior to the approval of the Chairman ), V.G. Fesenkov (he became the first Chairman of the Council), S.I. Vavilov, professors B.P. Gerasimovich and A.A. Mikhailov and other well known Soviet astronomers.

The Council was responsible for the coordination of the research activities in the field of the ground based optical astronomy carried out in the USSR by astronomical organizations which belonged to the Academy of Sciences and other organizations. Besides, for six decades the Council had held scientific meetings, organized the provision of the observatories with light detectors, prepared scientific exhibitions in the USSR and abroad, represented Soviet astronomers in the International Astronomical Union. Thus the Astronomical Council had all the functions of an academic scientific council. It is interesting to note that only the positions of the scientific secretary (and one or two technical employees) were paid (as in the other scientific councils). The other members of the Council, including the Chairman, worked as volunteers. In particular, the first Chairman of the Council, academician V.G. Fesenkov, at the same time (1936-1939) headed the Sternberg Astronomical Institute of the MSU, and academician A.A. Mikhailov in 1947-1963 combined his Chairman duties with the position of the director of the Pulkovo Observatory.

In the developing system of the Soviet Academy of Sciences scientific councils were created, liquidated, enlarged etc. in accordance with logic of developing science. But the Astronomical Council had a special fate, to become the core of a research institute. For many years two structures having had absolutely different functions had held the same name, Astronomical Council. One of them was the scientific council and the other one was the research institute. This introduction is manly focused on the Council as the center of scientific research, that later became the Institute of Astronomy of the RAS.

The first independent research activities started in the Astronomical Council short after the Second World War. The first large project was the creation of the General Catalogue of Variable Stars (GCVS). It was initiated and encouraged by the International Astronomical Union in 1946 and was led by P.P. Parenago and B.V.Kukarkin. The first edition of the Catalogue was published in 1947, the second – in 1958, the third – in 1969-1971, and in 1985-1995 the last fourth edition (hard copy) of GCVS containing 5 volumes came out.

 

A. G. Massevitch

p300010

Tracking station of the Astronomical Council in French Guiana not far from Courou. AFU - 75 camera is installed in the pavillion designed by french specialists.

Later, the most important activity of the Council was observations of artificial satellites of the Earth. Preparations for the observations had started before the first “Sputnik” was launched. Staff members of the Council led by A.G. Masevich trained future observers, organized special stations for visual observations of satellites. By October 1, 1957 under the direction of the Council 66 such stations had been built on the territory of the USSR. In 1966 the Astronomical Council started to create an international network for observations of satellites. For this network the special instrumentation was developed; under agreements with foreign scientific organizations observational stations were built. By 1975 28 such stations over Europe, Asia, Africa and South America had been created.

The great amount of visual, photographic and, later, laser observations of satellites was obtained at these stations. Results of the observations were used in fields of geodesy, geodynamics, and geophysics. In 1961 the Council in collaboration with the Pulkovo Observatory (MAO AS USSR) organized the first experiment in the field of space geodesy. Besides, the network of observational stations created bu the Council became a basis for the first global geodesy programme named The Big Chorda. By the middle eighties the most of the stations had completed their work and been closed. Their instrumentation was given to universities and other educational institutions.

 

chordnew

When the first satellites were launched our knowledge on the structure of the upper Earth’s atmosphere evolved much. In 1963 the Astronomical council in the frame of the collaborative activities of Academies of the socialists countries organized observations of low-orbit satellites. The program was called “Interobs”. A result of this project is the discovery of sudden short-term variations of the density of the atmosphere at altitudes of 300-500 km.

According to the decree of the Presidium of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR in 1958 near the town Zvenigorod (Moscow region) the Zvenigorod Experimental Station of the Astronomical Council (future Zvenigorod Observatory) was created. For many years it had been the main scientific base for the development of new methods and instrumentation, preparation of new specialists working on observations of satellites. In 1975 the Council established the Simeiz Experimental Station for the laser ranging of satellites.

In 1959 the Presidium of the Academy approved the structure of the Astronomical Council consisting of several research departments. Research work in the field of the solar activity and physics of the Moon intensively developed. Starting from 1966 the Council in collaboration with the Hydrometeorological Centre of the USSR performed investigations of the Sun-Earth interactions. In the early sixties the Council started to work in the field of stellar physics and evolution. With this purpose a group led by A.G. Masevich appeared. In the seventies the Council commenced activities concerned with the modeling of close binary stars and stellar pulsations. In 1967 E.R. Mustel initiated investigations in the field of stellar spectroscopy and non-stationary stars.

All of these activities required advanced computational facilities. In 1972 at the Zvenigorod Scientific Station the department of applied mathematics and computers was organized. Initially for computations the INASAN astronomers used the EVM M-222. In 1978 it was substituted by EVM ES-1033 and, then, by more powerful EVM ES-1045. These computers were utilized for calculations and for the work with the catalogues.

In 1980 the Astronomical Data Center started to operate in the Council. It was founded on the basis of the department of applied mathematics and computers. The Data Center became the Soviet branch of the Strasbourg Centre de Donnees Stellaire (CDS).  It was responsible for information support of astronomic investigations in the USSR and communication of catalogues created by Soviet scientists to the world scientific community. In 1981 the Astronomical Data Center had already contained all the most required catalogues and, thus, at the regional level was a rather popular “center for the collective use”.

For several years the Astronomical council had organized the publication of several periodicals.  Such bulletins as “Nauchnye Informatsi Astron. Sovet” published in 1965-1991 were known and popular among the Soviet scientific community and that of socialists countries. Since 1940 till 1993 the Council had published a compact journal, “Astronomical circular”, where an astronomer could send brief urgent information on new scientific results. One more journal, “Variable Stars”, had been published by the council in 1946-1995. In 2005 the publication of this journal was resumed in the electronic on-line version.

blagosl “Bless to live”. With these word Soviet cosmonauts Yu.A. Gagarin, P.R. Popovich, V.F. Bykovsky, A.G. Nikolaev and G.S. Titov encouraged the publication of the bulletin “Observation of satellites”. 

In the early eighties the Council started to work in a new promising research area, dynamics of stellar and planetary systems. So, by 1990 the Astronomical Council of the USSR Academy of Sciences previously having held functions of the coordinating organization had turned into an advanced research institution. In order to fix its status and avoid confusion with the scientific council the Astronomical Council was reformed into the Institute of Astronomy of the USSR Academy of Sciences. Since 1991 it has have the name Institute of Astronomy of the Russian Academy of Sciences (INASAN). Further, the name changed one more time and it sounds now The Institution of the Russian Academy of Sciences Institute of Astronomy of the RAS (abbreviation INASAN). The coordination council, whose Chairman now is academician N.S. Kardashev is called Scientific Council on Astronomy of the RAS.

In its history the Astronomical Council has been headed by well known Soviet scientists: academicians V. G. Fesenkov (1936 - 1939), A. A. Mikhailov (1939–1963), corresponding member E. R. Mustel (1963 - 1987), academician A. A. Boyarchuk (1987 - 1990). A. A. Boyarchuk became the first director of the Institute of Astronomy of the RAS (1991 - 2003), corresponding member of the RAS B. M. Shustov was the director of INASAN in 2003-2016. Since 2016 INASAN is headed by the corresponding member of the RAS D. V. Bisikalo.

 

V. G. Fesenkov

A. A. Mikhailov

E. R. Mustel

A. A. Boyarchuk

B. M. Shustov

 

D. V. Bisikalo

Перейти…
Об институте >> Историческая справка

Историческая справка

В первой половине XX века астрономия перестала быть уделом одиночек. Масштабные теоретические исследования, проектирование, создание и эксплуатация крупных телескопов, наблюдательные проекты - все это требовало объединения усилий не только отдельных ученых, но и целых научных коллективов и учреждений. В 30-е годы XX века перед советской астрономией встала задача создания единого органа, который взял бы на себя координацию развития обсерваторий, астрономического приборостроения и участия в международных проектах. В 1936 г. академики А.Е. Ферсман и В.Г. Фесенков представили в Президиум Академии наук СССР проект "Положения об Астрономическом совете при АН СССР", который был утвержден 20 декабря 1936 года. Эта дата считается днем рождения Астрономического совета АН СССР - в будущем Института астрономии Российской академии наук.

Согласно "Положению" в состав Астрономического совета (Астросовета) входили все астрономы - члены Физической группы АН СССР (аналог современного Отделения физических наук). Возглавлялся он Президиумом, первыми членами которого были акад. А.Ф. Иоффе (руководил работой совета в первые недели до утверждения кандидатуры председателя), акад. В.Г. Фесенков (он и стал первым председателем Астросовета), акад. С.И. Вавилов, проф. Б.П. Герасимович, проф. А.А. Михайлов и другие видные астрономы.

Первоначально в компетенцию Астросовета входила только координация исследований в области наземной оптической астрономии, которые проводились в СССР астрономическими организациями, принадлежавшими как Академии наук, так и другим ведомствам. Помимо этого на протяжении шести десятилетий Астросовет проводил научные совещания, налаживал снабжение обсерваторий светоприемниками, готовил научные экспозиции в СССР и за рубежом, в качестве национального комитета представлял астрономов СССР в Международном астрономическом союзе, т. е. выполнял все функции академического научного совета. При этом, как и в других научных советах, оплачивался только труд ученого секретаря (и одного - двух технических помощников). Остальные члены совета, включая председателя, работали на общественных началах. В частности, первый председатель Астросовета В.Г. Фесенков в то же время (1936-1939 гг.) был директором ГАИШ МГУ, а акад. А.А. Михайлов в 1947-1963 гг. совмещал председательские обязанности с постом директора Пулковской обсерватории.

В развивающейся системе АН СССР научные советы создавались, ликвидировались, укрупнялись и т. д. в соответствии с логикой развития науки. Но Астрономическому совету была уготована особая судьба - стать ядром научно-исследовательского института. Долгие годы Астросоветом назывались две совершенно различные по функциям структуры - научный совет и научно-исследовательское учреждение. Эта статья посвящена , главным образом, Астросовету как центру научных исследований, ставшему впоследствии Институтом астрономии РАН.

Начало собственных исследований в Астрономическом совете относится к послевоенным годам. Первым крупным проектом стала работа по созданию "Общего каталога переменных звезд" (ОКПЗ), начатая по поручению Международного астрономического союза в 1946 г. под руководством П.П. Паренаго и Б.В. Кукаркина. Первое издание Каталога вышло в 1947 г., второе - в 1958 г., третье - в 1969-1971 гг. К настоящему времени завершена публикация уже четвертого издания ОКПЗ в пяти томах.

А.Г. Масевич

p300010

Наблюдательная станция Астросовета во Французской Гвиане неподалеку от космодрома Куру. Камера АФУ-75 установлена в павильоне, построенном французскими специалистами.

Позже важнейшим направлением деятельности Астросовета стали наблюдения искусственных спутников Земли (ИСЗ), подготовка к которым началась еще до запуска первого спутника. Сотрудники Астросовета под руководством А.Г. Масевич организовывали тренировки наблюдателей, занимались подготовкой специальных станций для визуальных наблюдений ИСЗ. К 1 октября 1957 г. под руководством Астросовета на территории СССР было создано 66 таких станций. В 1966 г. Астросовет приступил к созданию международной сети наблюдений ИСЗ. Для нее разрабатывалась специальная аппаратура, по договорам с зарубежными научными организациями создавались наблюдательные пункты. К 1975 г. таких пунктов в Евразии, Африке и Южной Америке было уже 28.

На них был выполнен огромный объем визуальных и фотографических, а позднее и лазерных наблюдений ИСЗ, которые использовались для исследований в области геодезии, геодинамики и геофизики. В 1961 г. Астросовет совместно с Пулковской обсерваторией (ГАО АН СССР) организовал первый в мире эксперимент по спутниковой геодезии. Кроме того, созданная Астросоветом сеть пунктов послужила основой для реализации первой глобальной геодезической программы "Большая хорда" (см.рис. ниже). К середине 80-х годов большинство станций, выполнивших свои задачи, было закрыто, а их оборудование передано университетам и другим учебным заведениям.

chordnew

Полеты первых спутников сильно изменили наши представления о структуре верхней атмосферы Земли. В 1963 г. Астросовет в рамках сотрудничества академий наук с
оциалистических стран организовал наблюдения низкоорбитальных ИСЗ по программе "Интеробс". Результатом этой программы стало обнаружение внезапных кратковременных вариаций плотности атмосферы на высотах 300-500 км.

В 1958 г. близ г.Звенигород Московской области распоряжением Президиума АН СССР была создана Звенигородская экспериментальная станция Астросовета (ныне Звенигородская обсерватория). На протяжении многих лет она была главной научной базой для разработки новых методик, аппаратуры и научных кадров для наблюдений ИСЗ. В 1975 г. Астросовет создал экспериментальную Симеизскую станцию лазерной локации ИСЗ.

В 1959 г. Президиумом АН СССР в составе Астросовета было утверждено несколько научно-исследовательских секторов. Активно развивались исследования по проблемам солнечной активности и физике Луны. Начиная с 1966 г. Астросовет совместно с Гидрометцентром СССР проводил исследования по физике солнечно-земных связей. В начале 1960-х гг. под руководством А.Г. Масевич в Астросовете была создана группа по исследованию физики и эволюции звезд, в 1970-е гг. начались работы по моделированию эволюции тесных двойных звездных систем и звездных пульсаций. В 1967 г. по предложению Э.Р. Мустеля начались исследования в области звездной спектроскопии и нестационарных звезд. С 1980 г. ведется работа по изучению закономерностей процесса звездообразования на различных пространственно-временных масштабах - от галактик в целом до одиночных звезд.

Эти исследования предъявляли повышенные требования к развитию вычислительной базы. В 1972 г. на Звенигородской научной станции был организован сектор прикладной математики и вычислительной техники. Первоначально для решения численных задач использовалась ЭВМ М-222, в 1978 г. на смену ей пришла ЭВМ ЕС-1033, а затем и более мощная ЭВМ ЕС-1045. Эти компьютеры использовались как для вычислений, так и для работы с каталогами.

В 1980 г. на базе сектора прикладной математики и вычислительной техники в составе Астросовета начал работу Центр астрономических данных (ЦАД) - советский филиал международного Страсбургского центра звездных данных. Его задачей было информационное обеспечение астрономических исследований в СССР и организация передачи мировому научному сообществу каталогов, подготовленных советскими учеными. Уже в 1981 г. база данных ЦАД содержала все наиболее востребованные каталоги, и потому на региональном уровне ЦАД стал весьма популярным, как сказали бы теперь, "центром коллективного пользования".

На протяжении ряда лет Астросовет организовывал публикацию нескольких продолжающихся изданий. Выпускавшиеся в период 1965-1991 гг. бюллетени "Научные информации Астрономического совета" и "Наблюдения искусственных спутников Земли" были известны и популярны среди научной общественности СССР и стран социалистического лагеря. С 1940 по 1993 г. в Астросовете издавался "Астрономический циркуляр" - компактный журнал для публикации оперативной информации о научных результатах. Еще одно издание Астросовета - журнал "Переменные звезды" - публиковалось с 1946 по 1995 г. В 2005 г. его издание возобновлено в электронном виде.

blagosl "Благословляем на жизнь" - так поддержали издание Астросоветом бюллетеней "Наблюдения искусственных спутников Земли" летчики-космонавты СССР Ю.А. Гагарин, П.Р. Попович, В.Ф. Быковский, А.Г. Николаев и Г.С. Титов.

В 1986 г. в Астросовете появилось новое перспективное направление исследований - динамика звездных и планетных систем. Таким образом, к 1990 г. Астрономический совет АН СССР из координирующего органа превратился в развитое научно-исследовательское учреждение. Чтобы четко определить его статус и избежать путаницы с научным советом, в декабре 1990 г. распоряжением Президиума АН СССР Астросовет как научное учреждение был преобразован в Институт астрономии АН СССР. С 1991 года он называется Институтом астрономии Российской академии наук (ИНАСАН). За координационным советом, председателем которого стал акад. Н.С. Кардашев, осталось название Астрономический совет РАН.

В разные годы председателями Астрономического совета были крупнейшие советские ученые: акад. В.Г. Фесенков (1936-1939), акад. А.А. Михайлов (1939-1963) , чл.-корр. Э.Р. Мустель (1963-1987), акад. А.А. Боярчук (1987-1990). Акад. А.А. Боярчук стал первым директором ИНАСАН (1991-2003). С 2003 по 2016 г. директором института был чл.-корр. РАН Б.М. Шустов. С февраля 2016 года институт возглавляет чл.-корр. РАН Д.В. Бисикало.

В. Г. Фесенков

А. А. Михайлов

Э. Р. Мустель

А.А. Боярчук

Б. М. Шустов

 

Д. В. Бисикало