Go to ...
Space activities >> WSO-UV

WSO-UV

The ambitious international project Spektr-UF (World Space Observatory UltraViolet, WSO-UV) is an international space observatory designed for observations in the ultraviolet domain (115-320 nm) unreachable from the Earth’s surface. The Project is included into the Federal Space Program of Russia 2016 – 2025. At present Russia, Spain and Mexico participate in the Project. Institute of Astronomy RAS is the head scientific organization on the Project, Lavochkin Asociation is responsible for the space complex.
Russia manufactures the main instruments of the observatory - a 170-cm telescope, high- and low-resolution spectrographs and cameras for high-quality UV and optical imaging. By its potential, the WSO-UV mission is similar to the Hubble Space Telescope (HST), though it exceeds HST in spectroscopic capabilities. It is expected that WSO-UV will open new opportunities for study of Solar system planets, exoplanets, stellar and extragalactic astrophysics as well as cosmology.
The mission is planned to be launched in 2023. It will be put to the geosynchronous orbit where it is expected to operate for five years with a planned prolongation for five years more. Probably at that time the observatory will be the only source of the UV data from the Universe.
 

The project site (new version will be available after 15.12.2017 ): wso-uv.org

Перейти…
Космическая деятельность >> WSO-UV

WSO-UV

Крупный международный проект «Спектр-УФ» - «Всемирная космическая обсерватория» (ВКО-УФ), World Space Observatory - Ultraviolet) направлен на исследование Вселенной в недоступном для наблюдений с наземными инструментами ультрафиолетовом (УФ) участке электромагнитного спектра: 100 – 320 нм. Проект возглавляется Россией, включен в Федеральную космическую программу на 2016 – 2025 гг. В настоящее время в работе над проектом участвуют Россия, Испания и Мексика. ИНАСАН – головная научная организация проекта. Головной организацией по ракетно-космическому комплексу является НПО им. С.А. Лавочкина.
В России создаются все основные инструменты обсерватории – космический телескоп с главным зеркалом диаметром 170 см, спектрографы высокого и низкого разрешения, а также камеры для построения высококачественных изображений небесных объектов. По возможностям проект ВКО-УФ сравним с Космическим Телескопом им. Хаббла, а по отдельным параметрам превосходит его. ВКО-УФ откроет новые возможности для исследований планет Солнечной системы и экзопланет, звездной, внегалактической астрофизики и космологии.
Запуск обсерватории запланирован на 2023 год. Она будет выведена на геосинхронную орбиту, где, как ожидается, будет работать около 5 лет с плановым продолжением еще на 5 лет. Предполагается, что в период работы на орбите обсерватория ВКО-УФ будет единственным источником ультрафиолетовых данных о Вселенной.
 

Сайт проекта (будет доступен после 15 декабря 2017 ): wso-uv.org